What Do Toyota Trim Level Acronyms Mean?

Ever Wonder What Toyota Model and Trim Names Mean? We Have the Answers

What Do Toyota Trim Level Acronyms Mean?

If you’re shopping for a new Toyota, you not only have to find the right model, but also the right trim level for your driving needs. Many of these trim levels have acronyms consisting of a few letters that probably make little sense to you. To help you avoid some of the confusion and better understand what each trim level has to offer at a glance, we’ll explain what these Toyota trim level acronyms actually mean.

Find out about the newest Toyota models here

Here are what the Toyota trim level acronym names mean:

two people getting out of a toyota camryCE: Classic Edition

DX: Deluxe

L: Entry level model

LE: Luxury Edition

S: Sport

SE: Sport Edition

SLE: Sport Luxury Edition

SR5: Sport Rally 5-Speed

VE: Value Edition

XL: Executive Luxury

XLE: Executive Luxury Edition

XLS: Executive Luxury Sport

XR: Extreme Rally

XRS: Extreme Rally Sport

What Do Toyota Model Names Mean?

Another question you may run into while researching Toyota models is what the actual model names mean. Some like Sequoia, Land Cruiser, Tundra, 4Runner or Highlander make a bit of sense. Others… not so much. But, each model name has its meaning, so here are the meanings for some of the more popular Toyota vehicles.

Camry: Japanese for “crown.”

Corolla: The outer portion of a flower.

Prius: Latin for “to go before.”

RAV4: Recreational Active Vehicle with 4WD.

Tacoma: Salish Indian word for mountain that provided water to their tribe.

Yaris: From the name of a Greek goddess, Charis, who symbolized beauty/elegance.

Now that you know what each Toyota trim level acronym means, along with some meanings for model names, let us know which one is your favorite by contacting us at Hiland Toyota. From there, we would be happy to help you get behind the wheel of your dream car.